Emily Carr University Research Ethics Board

Emily Carr University promotes a high standard of ethics and integrity in research and scholarship. All university-affiliated research and scholarship involving human participants requires review and approval of the University’s Research Ethics Board.

2014/15 Dates & Deadlines

Application Forms

Consent & Release Templates

The ECU-REB acts in compliance with the Second Edition of the Tri-Council Policy Statement on Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans, updated in 2014 (TCPS 2) and the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (The Framework).

To comply with these standards, all Emily Carr University Researchers who embark on human participant research will complete the TCPS2:CORE (Course on Research Ethics) as part of the ECU-REB approval process.


Emily Carr University Research Ethics Board
1399 Johnston Street, Granville Island
Vancouver BC V6H 3R9 Canada
T | 604.844.3800 ext. 2848
F | 604.844.3801

2013-14 Members of the ECU-REB

The ECU-REB is an independent committee that is charged by the President with the responsibility of ensuring the University’s research adheres to the highest standard of conduct in research involving human participation.

Internal Members -

Chair - Dr. Glen Lowry, Associate Professor, Faculty of Culture + Community
Vice-Chair - Dr. Trish Kelly, Associate Professor, Faculty of Culture + Community
Dr. Ruth Beer, Professor, Faculty of Visual Art + Material Practice
Dr. Cameron Cartiere, Associate Professor
Celeste Martin, Assistant Professor, Faculty Design + Dynamic Media 
James Rout, Associate Vice-President, Learning Services + Information Technologies, and University Librarian

External Members -

Dr. Susan Cox, Associate Professor, W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics, UBC
Dr. Donal O'Donaghue, Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy, UBC

Former Board Members -

Jim Bud (2009 - 2010), Brenda Crabtree (2009-2013), Dr. Kit Grauer (2009 - 2012), Dr. Joy James (2009 - 2010), Julie York (2009 - 2012), Dr. Maria Lantin, (2009 - 2013),  Deborah Shackleton (Founding Chair, 2009-2014)

Ad Hoc Advisors -

Mimi Gellman, Ad Hoc Advisor, Indigenous Peoples Research, Assoicate Professor, Faculty of Culture + Community; Deborah Shackleton, Ad Hoc Advisor, Design Research Methodologies; Jonathan Aitken, Ad Hoc Advisor, Health Design Research

Administrative Liaison -

Dr. Maria Lantin, Director of Research

Staff -

Dr. Jacqueline Davidson, Interim Emily Carr University Research Ethics Board Coordinator - ethics@ecuad.ca
Lois Klassen, Emily Carr University Research Ethics Board Coordinator - ethics@ecuad.ca