

BOARD OF GOVERNORS – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, September 20, 2012

3:30 pm

Boardroom

ATTENDANCE:

Voting Members:

Jake Kerr, Chancellor

Ron Burnett

Darren Devlin

Evaleen Jaager Roy

Ingrid Koenig

Rasely Ma

Rick Mischel

Heather Oland (via teleconference)

Blair Qualey (via teleconference)

Bob Rennie

John Wertschek

REGRETS:

Debra Hoggan

Emma Somers

Sheree Waterson

Faye Wightman

Non-Voting Members:

Michael Clifford, Vice President Finance + Administration

David Bogen, Vice President Academic + Provost

Alisha Walsh, University Secretary

Guest:

Alan McMillan, Director, Student Services + Registrar

I. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

1. Call to Order

Chair Evaluen Jaager Roy called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm. On behalf of Emily Carr University, Ron Burnett expressed appreciation for the extensive contributions of Alan McMillan.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Moved/Seconded to approve the agenda as circulated.

Carried

II. BUSINESS / DECISIONS

1. Election of Board Executive Members:

a) Nominations Committee Report

Jake Kerr reported on the nominations for the Executive positions. Evaleen Jaager Roy has been nominated as Chair and Heather Oland has been nominated as Vice-Chair. Bob Rennie, John Wertscheck and Jake Kerr have been nominated as Directors-at-Large.

b) Nominations + Election of Chair

Alan McMillan reported that Evaleen Jaager Roy was nominated and agreed to stand for the position of Chair. A call for nominations from the floor was made three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

It was declared that Evaleen Jaager Roy was elected by acclamation as Chair of the Board.

c) Nominations + Election of Vice-Chair

Alan McMillan reported that Heather Oland was nominated and agreed to stand for the position of Vice-Chair. A call for nominations from the floor was made three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

It was declared that Heather Oland was elected by acclamation as Vice-Chair of the Board.

d) Nominations + Election of three (3) Directors-at-Large

Alan McMillan reported that Jake Kerr, Bob Rennie and John Wertschek were nominated and agreed to stand for the positions of Directors-at-Large. A call for nominations from the floor was made three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

It was declared that Jake Kerr, Bob Rennie and John Wertschek were elected by acclamation as Directors-at-Large of the Board.

2. Motion: Banking Resolution

Michael Clifford presented the banking resolution and reviewed the updates to the signing authorizations.

Moved/Seconded to approve the 2012/13 banking resolution as presented.

Carried

III. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:10 pm.