88 Artists from 88 Years | An Alumni Retrospective

This event is in the past
Ghost Town X895
Ghost Town, 2006 C-print (Image | Mark Dudiak)

Part of The Big Reveal, the exhibition features works from our first graduating class to our most recent.


Oct 28, 2017, 12:00pm – Nov 17, 2017, 6:00pm

Add to Calendar: iCal Google

Michael O'Brian Exhibition Commons
Opening Reception | October 27, 6pm

Part of The Big Reveal, 88 Artists from 88 Years is the inaugural exhibition in the Michael O'Brian Exhibition Commons.

88 Artists from 88 Years is an alumni exhibition to celebrate Emily Carr University’s move to our new campus at Great Northern Way. The exhibition will include works by graduates spanning the years 1929 to 2017. It will showcase the diverse range of visual art and design practices including painting, sculpture, film and video, ceramics, printmaking, industrial design, graphic design and new media.Further, the exhibition will feature a broad range of Emily Carr graduate’s work from student projects to later or recent work.

Featured Alumni include:

Heather Anderson (1998), Roy Arden (1982), Christopher Auchter (2002), Daina Augaitis (1983), Marian Penner Bancroft (1969), Derek Barnett (1998), Alistair Bell (1939), BC Binning (1932), Phillip Borsos (1975), Vanessa Brown (2013), Karin Bubaš (1998), Dorothy Burnett (1930), Tommy Chain (2015), Tom Chung (2012), Douglas Coupland (1984), Patrick Cruz (2010), Andrew Dadson (2003), Robert Davidson (1968), Jason DaSilva (2001), Michael de Courcy (1970), Chris Dixon (1997), Stan Douglas (1982), Geoffrey Farmer (1992), Kevan Funk (2011), Juan Gaitán (2002), Babak Golkar (2003), Julian Gosper (2002) + Ron Terada (1992), Lief Ambrosia Hall (2003), Colleen Heslin (2003), Carole Itter (1961), Lynn B. Johnston (1967), Brian Jungen (1992), Janice Kerbel (1994), Molly Lamb Bobak (1941), Laiwan (1983), Laura Wee Lay Laq (1977), Beatrice Lennie (1929), Glen Lewis (1958), Sing Lim (1945), Attila Richard Lukacs (1985), Kate Metten (2017), Robin Mitchell Cranfield (2003) and Judith Steedman (1997), Nadia Myre (1997), Terre Nash (1970), Gailan Ngan (2002), Wayne Ngan (1964), David Ostrem (1978), Luke Parnell (2012), Laura Piasta (2006), Natalie Purshwitz (2001), Irene Hoffer Reid (1929), Rick Ross (1966), Jeremy Shaw (2000), Kevin Schmidt (1997), Marianna Schmidt (1964), Gordon Smith (1946), Krista Belle Stewart (2006), Martha Sturdy (1978), Erdem Taşdelen (2010), Kim Tomczak (1975), Mina Totino (1982), Ian Verchere (1989), Neil Wedman (1977), Margaret Williams (1929), Jin-me Yoon (1990), Lawrence Paul Yuxwelupton (1983), Elizabeth Zvonar (2002) and art and design collectives: Malaspina Printmakers Society, Norma, Post Projects, Project Rainbow, Propeller, and SetUp Magazine.

The exhibition has been organized by Jonathan Middleton, Cate Rimmer, and Chelsea Yuill, with Susanna Browne and Kathy Slade. For further information, please contact the Libby Leshgold Gallery.

Image: Ghost Town, 2006 C-print
Norma (Vanessa Kwan, Diana Lopez Soto, Josh Neelands, Christy Nyiri, Pietro Sammarco, Erica Stocking, Ron Tran, Kara Uzelman)