2018 Conv Banner

Announcing our 2018 Honorary Doctorate + Emily Award Recipients

Posted on March 26, 2018 | Emily Carr News

We're pleased to announce that Honorary Doctorates will be bestowed upon multidisciplinary artist Rebecca Belmore; multidisciplinary artist and musician, Kim Gordon; artist, designer and educator, Angela Grauerholz and animator, artist and filmmaker, Pierre Hébert.

This year's Emily Award will be presented to interdisciplinary artist Tsema Igharas, a 2011 alumna. Recipients will receive their honours at the 2018 Convocation Ceremony to be held May 5, 2018 at the Chan Centre for Performing Arts.

"Emily Carr University of Art + Design is delighted to recognize these exceptional members of our community, who have contributed to arts and culture through their leadership, creativity and philanthropic endeavours."

Dr. Ron Burnett, ECU President and Vice-Chancellor

Each year the Honorary Doctorate Degree Program celebrates and recognizes the commitment, dedication, and service of individuals who are distinguished by their significant contributions and sustained creative and philanthropic achievements in their areas of expertise. The annual Emily Award Program recognizes the outstanding achievements by members of the alumni community whose creative pursuits in the arts, media and design have brought honour to the University.

About the 2018 Honorary Doctorate Recipients:
About the 2018 Emily Award Recipient:

Past honorary degree recipients include: Hock E Aye Vi Heap of Birds, Lisa Robertson, Peeter Wesik, Cornelia Hahn Oberlander, Eric Metcalfe, Lorna Brown, Catriona Jeffries, Janice Kerbel, Jon Stovell, Dan Graham, Douglas Coupland, Kate Fletcher, Jake Kerr, Jessica Stockholder, Michael Snow, Gordon A. Smith, Wendy Tilby, Susan A. Point, Bob Rennie, Stan Douglas, Sarah McLachlan, Atom Egoyan, Sally Potter, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Peter Doig, William Gibson, Mark Lewis, Michael Audain, Janet Cardiff, Jim Hart, Rodney Graham and Bruce Mau.

Past Emily Award recipients include: Pat Christie, Andrew Dadson, Naomi Singer, Etienne Zack, Liz Magor, Elizabeth Zvonar, Sonny Assu, Jason DaSilva, Brian Jungen, Daina Augaitis and Simon Chang.