Congratulations to Alumni + Faculty Longlisted for the 2018 Sobey Art Award

By Roxanne Toronto

Posted on April 18, 2018 | Updated August 06, 2019, 9:07AM

The Sobey Art Award is the preeminent prize for Canadian artists 40 and under.

Four members of the ECU community have been longlisted for the 2018 Sobey Art Award, the preeminent prize for Canadian artists 40 and under. Celebrating some of this country’s most exciting young artists, the award provides significant financial and professional recognition.

And this year, the Award has doubled — with a top prize of $100,000 issued to the winner and $25,000 to each of the four finalists. The remaining longlisted artists will each receive $2,000.

Join us in congratulating the Emily Carr longlisted candidates, all hailing from the West Coast and Yukon region:

  • Hannah Jickling + Helen Reed (Sessional Faculty)

  • Jeneen Frei Njootli (2012)

  • Krista Belle Stewart (2006)

The finalists – one from each region in Canada - will be announced on May 29. The National Gallery of Canada hosts a special event on 14 to announce the winner. Past award recipients include ECU alumni Jeremy Shaw, Brian Jungen, and Nadia Myre. Stay tuned!

About the Longlisted Artists: