Announcing ECU’s 2024 Honorary Degree and Emily Award Recipients


By Emily Carr University

Posted on April 22, 2024 | Updated April 23, 2024, 2:24pm

This year’s recipients will receive their honours during ECU’s convocation ceremony on May 8.

Emily Carr University of Art + Design is pleased to award 2024 Honorary Degrees to artist, performer, filmmaker and writer Carole Itter and experimental film artist, producer, director and curator Kirk Tougas, recognizing their spectacular achievements in the art world.

This year’s Emily Award will be presented to celebrated contemporary visual artist Nadia Myre, who graduated from ECU in 1997.

“I am thrilled to award this year’s Honorary Degrees and Emily Award to three deserving and venerable artists,” says Interim President + Vice-Chancellor Trish Kelly.

“From Kirk’s indelible imprint through Pacific Cinematheque and Canadian cinema, Carole’s large-scale and expansive works incorporating found materials, to Nadia’s exemplary artistry that touches on identity, language, and loss - each of these artists has shone a light on new ways of creation and artmaking. Their impacts are deeply felt in the art community as they continue pushing the boundaries of their disciplines.”

All three will receive their honours during Convocation on May 8, 2024.

Each year, the Honorary Degree Program celebrates and recognizes the commitment, dedication, and service of individuals distinguished by their significant contributions and sustained creative and philanthropic achievements in their areas of expertise.

The annual Emily Award Program recognizes the outstanding achievements of alum community members whose creative pursuits in the arts, media and design have brought recognition to the university.

About Kirk Tougas
About Carole Itter
About Nadia Myre